Nepal Aid e.V. is an aid organization that is represented throughout Germany and operates locally in Nepal. With its Nepalese partner association “Himalayan Cooperation Society (HiCoS)”, the Association operates a Jeep in the Tamang Heritage Region, which takes patients from the remote mountain villages to so-called “Health Posts” or to the nearest hospital. In addition, the Association supports the health facilities mentioned with investments and with the financing of emergency transports to the capital city Kathmandu.

The Association also runs a children’s home in Khamjin. This offers accommodation, meals and educational support for pupils from the surrounding mountain villages, who otherwise could not attend school due to the long way to school. Nepal Aid e.V. receives support in the operation of the children’s home from the Käthe-Kollwitz-Gymnasium in Dortmund. Members who teach at this school were instrumental in the foundation of the children’s home.

Founded in 2016 as “Nepalhilfe Straubenhardt e.V.”, the Association underwent a name change in 2019 to “Nepal Aid e.V.” in order to do justice to the nationwide members and to address other possible partners.

Der Nepal Aid e.V. ist eine deutschlandweit vertretene, lokal in Nepal agierende Hilfsorganisation. Der Verein betreibt mit seinem nepalesischen Partnerverein „Himalayan Cooperation Society (HiCoS)“ einen Jeep in der Tamang Heritage Region, welcher Patienten*innen aus den abgelegenen Bergdörfern zu sogenannten „Health Posts“ oder in das nächstgelegene Krankenhaus bringt. Darüber hinaus unterstützt der Verein die genannten Gesundheitseinrichtungen bei Investitionen sowie bei der Finanzierung von Notfalltransporten in die Hauptstadt Kathmandu.

Der Verein betreibt außerdem ein Kinderheim in Khamjin. Dieses bietet Unterkunft, Verpflegung sowie pädagogische Betreuung von Schüler*innen aus den umliegenden Bergdörfern, welche die Schule aufgrund des langen Schulwegs sonst nicht besuchen könnten. Unterstützung bei dem Betrieb des Kinderheims erhält der Nepal Aid e.V. durch das Käthe-Kollwitz-Gymnasium in Dortmund. Mitglieder*innen die an dieser Schule unterrichten waren maßgeblich an der Gründung des Kinderheims beteiligt.

2016 als „Nepalhilfe Straubenhardt e.V.“ gegründet erfuhr der Verein 2019 eine Namensänderung in „Nepal Aid e.V.“ um den bundesweit verstreuten Mitglieder*innen gerecht zu werden und um weitere mögliche Mitglieder*innen  anzusprechen.